A Near Miss

I could’ve been in heaven (or purgatory, or, oh my! surely not there!) the other day, how I avoided a head-on collision is quite miraculous, thanks in large part to oncoming traffic knowing what to do, and there being room for them to drive on the shoulder of the road!

It all started quite innocently when I decided to pass another vehicle on a three lane section of road that allows passing only in the two right hand lanes (depending on your direction of travel of course). The other driver was in a full size pick-up truck, I was in my wife’s 2007 Chevy Malibu (recently purchased). When I accelerated to go around the truck, he sped up and I had to fall in behind him again. The road narrows back into two lanes with other passing opportunities further ahead. I waited for one and when it came, guess what the truck driver did? Yes, he sped up again when I tried to pass him! Two oncoming cars were able to avoid hitting me head on!

I was finally able to squeeze back into my lane of traffic, between the truck and a little white car. Further up the road, at a stop light, the driver in front of me got out of his little white car and the truck driver got out of his car, and they both walked up to my car, wanting a confrontation. I politely told the truck driver had he not sped up while I was trying to pass him, the terrifying (to me) incident would never have happened. I rolled my window up, proceeded around the little white car, and drove off into the sunset.

The sun really wasn’t setting but I like dramatic endings. Although it couldn’t have ended much more dramatically than it did. Why do you suppose the driver of that truck wanted me to have a head on collision? I was not speeding (except when trying to pass him after he sped up, he was actually driving under the speed limit when I was following him, that’s why I wanted to pass him in the first place, plus the fact that I was in a little bit of a hurry because I was on my way to a drug screening test and I had to pee!), or driving recklessly.

Oh well. I guess it’s just one of those things. One of those things that never happened to me before now. C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

