Closing the business (or the business of closing)

I hear it every year at about this same time. Not only do I hear it, but I kind of partake in it. Closing the garden. It can also be called winterizing. You folks livin in the northeast know what I’m talkin about. It entails a little or a lot of the following: cutting back (or pulling) spent perennials, weeding, wrapping and draining hoses, shoveling mulch, maybe some transplanting, tool and mower cleaning, and if you live in the snow belt (an area known around here as “North of I-80”) winterizing might also involve attaching a snow plow blade to your riding mower or lawn tractor.

I don’t like this winterizing and closing business one bit. I know what you’re gonna say: “A dormant season with cold temperatures is necessary for some plants.” Okay, I’ll give you that, but it’s not a necessity for humans. As a matter of fact, a dormant season wouldn’t be necessary at all if you used annuals instead of perennial flowers. Of course it’s not as easy as changing the type of flowers you grow if you want to do away with winter.

I suppose there’s a chance I might be sadly affected even more than I am during winter should there ever come a time when winters would be no more. After all, the kid in me says Santa still lives and gives toys to all the good boys and girls. And I like to think that I’m a good boy.

Leave a Reply

