Giving Thanks in Kentucky

It’s been some time since I spent a holiday with my family down in Kentucky. And when I say “holiday,” I’m referring to either of the two major ones – Thanksgiving and/or Christmas. Of course this is subjective and others might have two completely different “major” holidays. But I think most of you would agree that the two I’ve mentioned are probably the most family oriented out of all the others. I’m sure there are many of you that have moms, dads, brothers, sisters, grandmas and grandpas living a great distance from where you call home. Such is the case with me and it’s been like that for the past 21 years.



It used to be relatively easy to make the almost 500 mile trip from here to there. 53 minus 20 equals 33, and at 33 I still had lots of energy and the long drive wasn’t long at all. Over the years I’ve racked up at least 15,000 miles traveling to and from My Old Kentucky Home in Greensburg, Kentucky. My body is less energy efficient, has less shock absorption capability, and what used to take around 7 hours to drive, now takes about 9, sometimes 10 hours. It’s not that I don’t enjoy myself, it’s the plain and simple fact that my body doesn’t enjoy its self.



During the late 80s, 90s, and into the early years of this decade, I tried my best to alternate the holidays I’d spend in Kentucky with my folks. One year it’d be Christmas, the next it’d be Thanksgiving. Whatever holiday I didn’t spend in Kentucky, would be the one we’d share with my wife’s family here. (I had never before heard the words “ethnic food” until I began having holiday dinners with my wife’s family.)





Things change. Time doesn’t slow down, there’s really no fountain of youth, and aging certainly occurs with or without any help from us. What I was thankful for yesterday, might just be something I’m unthankful for today (if you’ve ever found money and then had to give it back you know what I’m talking about). But it doesn’t mean I should stop giving thanks, and I haven’t.



So thank you for coming here. I hope what you read causes you to do a little extra thinking. And if I’ve wasted your time, I apologize. But please don’t let it stop you from coming back. I might eventually say something you can relate to. Or not.

Leave a Reply

