Timely Change

My move from Blogger to WordPress might be coming at just the right time, you know, the new year and all. Isn’t that when you’re supposed to promise yourself or someone that you’ll do something or quit doing something? Or do I mean to say it’s when you resolve to do something or quit doing something,  I think it’s called making a New Year’s resolution.

I’ve never resolved anything at the onset of a new year, or at least I don’t think I have, knowingly. I might have forgotten about doing so, but if that’s the case, the resolution wasn’t important enough to attempt anyway. I can think of one resolve I made, but it wasn’t one for a New Year, but it was important: I quit smoking on July 3rd, 2003.

I might resolve to write a book this year, or at least give it my best shot. I know it can be written, and I know I can call it a book. But it’s seeing it on a shelf in a book store, or in the hands of a complete stranger that will really tell me that I’ve done it.

I wonder if I’m putting too much emphasis on “getting published?” How do I know if I’m setting a realistic goal? What if I get a very bad case of writer’s block? What if someone says “I wouldn’t buy that book?” What if I break the lead in my pencil? Wait, that’s a bad metaphor, they don’t use lead anymore.

14 Comments

  1. You see, TC? If you can inspire accomplished garden-bloggers like Ms. Frances with just an article, then your book is already well on its way. Don’t be shy about promoting yourself. I see not just one successful book in your future but many and also a gardening show. Your great sense of humor and submariner’s courage will see you through this period of “what ifs.” Go get ’em!

  2. Hi TC, it sounds like you have lots of exciting stuff swirling around in the cerebrum! May I be so bold to just say, if you’ve got a book in you, just write it with no other thought than to get the words out! Worry about the rest of the crap later. You leaf article made me want to knock on the door of our next door neighbors, who do not speak much English and my spanish is muy pobre, and ask for those black plastic bags of leaves they raked up. A happy winter solstice to you. I assume school’s out? Hooray! 😉
    Frances

    1. In my meeting with a colleague today, he said exactly those same words Ms. Frances; “Just write it.” However, without spilling the beans, there will be “outsiders” contributing to my book.

      And thanks for reading that article, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      School’s out in two days!

    1. Hey Ms. Helen! Thanks for stopping by. And the book’s been pokin me in the side for a couple years now, so I thought it’d be a good time to dress the wound before it gets any worse. (I wonder if anyone’s ever attempted to count the metaphors?)

      And I don’t know if I can answer your questions, but I will surely try!

  3. Hey TC-the question isn’t what if. The question is, what if I don’t? The old cliche’ “nothing ventured, nothing gained” is so true. So get to it!!

    On another note, remember flydragon? She passed away this a.m. Didn’t know if you saw that or not.

    1. I’m a gettin to it Ms. Susie! Meeting with a published author Monday mornin to brainstorm!

      And I’m so sorry to hear the news about Flydragon, her blog was so funny.

  4. Does anyone really follow through with goals for a new year? Please don’t say “What if”. I suppose if we lived by that we would never get anything accomplished.

  5. What if’s can get you sidetracked when you think of them as obstacles. “What if” is one of my favorite sets of words but I try to think “What if I..[insert action here].” Those two words can lead you down a path of innovation. Don’t worry about what may happen, just write the book and if you’re passionate about it things will fall into place.

Leave a Reply

