I need your input please

There are many things I’m preparing in order to submit my book proposal to a publisher. One of these items has to do with marketing. I don’t know a lot about personal marketing, or how to sell myself, but I do know how to ask a simple question. Thus the poll box you see below.

I can’t reveal a lot of detail, but my book will feature a prominent aspect of gardening that hasn’t been addressed in quite the way I’ll be addressing it. Suffice to say there’ll be lots of photographs and plenty of my gardening essays with an ample amount of input from average Joe and Jane gardeners like y’all.

I’ll use the results from the poll to help me convince publishers that my book is a good investment. And I thank all of you who decide to click either yes or no.

And in celebration of Catalog Season, I give you this article I wrote for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

Share

10 Comments

  1. HA TC, of course we would buy your book! Here’s to great things ahead in 2010. I look forward to reading something new, from a different perspective, and love your photos and essays too. As for WFF, their catalog came yesterday. I browsed through it with only one or two things of interest, and those too pricey. I used to make list after list when that catalog would arrive, and have them still in the notebook. How things have changed, me mostly. 🙂
    Frances

    1. Thanks for the very encouraging words Ms. Frances. I love WFF’s catalog, it’s really pretty and well written. I contacted them several years ago inquiring about a job but they didn’t have any openings for another writer or photographer.

    1. Of course we all know why the plants look so perfect. And I’m guessin we also know that we can’t expect ours to be as spectacular as those in the catalogs. But we can sure try to have plants just as gorgeous.

  2. Great article, TC! It’s high time someone spoke out about the deception that takes place at catalog time. I can’t count the number of times I’ve been duped into thinking such and such plant will perform just as fantastically in my garden as it does in those pictures. By the way, do we get to vote more than once? Will sirens blare loudly if we try?

      1. No sirens. It said “Thank you. We have already counted your vote.” I’ve become one of those people who pushes the change button on a soda machine after the change is dispensed–just to make sure there’s nothing more coming my way.

Leave a Reply

