Worth

It’s really important in todays publishing environment for authors to be more proactive on their blogs to build up a solid fan base. Ideally, four to five posts a week are what the top gardening blogs are doing…and some post everyday.

This advice came from the publisher that rejected my book idea. I’d like to know your opinion on how blogging as often as he mentions increases the likelihood that any one publishing company will accept an author’s book proposal.

I don’t have time to blog as often as that. But if it meant neglecting other important things, and doing so lead to a book deal, would it be worth it? Worth. What’s that?

Share

22 Comments

  1. I just don’t see why fans of a blog should influence a publisher’s decision in publishing a book? I do think however that a proven record of writing; which can be evidenced by a long record of blogging; is important. Although your publisher did not say that though huh? It seems fans are important? Strange when it should be the writing. Blogs might help to market a book though and popularity counts there. TC, don’t give up. We get rejected so many times that it builds character and when you finally make it you will really have made it!

  2. Hello there TC Connor,
    I thought you might know about the Monks, and so glad you saw the beauty with your own eyes. Sometimes pictures don’t quite depict what we want to express. Yes it is very beautiful there. I’ve lived here for almost seven years now and I have always been curious about the place, but finally decided to go. I’m so glad I did.
    Here’s my views on blogging,
    I don’t post everyday, but if I have something to say and pictures I want to post I go ahead and do it and I don’t wait for people to play catch up. If I want to post for four or five days in a row and then NOT post for four or five days after that, well I consider that okay. The reason I don’t wait for people to play catch up with any of my posts is because “Mainly people will read all your back posts if they look interesting” Some of my posts will have lots of comments, and then others will only have a couple. But that’s okay ! People will almost always comment about the older posts if they have not seen them before, which is a good thing.
    After reading all of the comments and yours too, I am now understanding why our blogs can be a big part of selling a book. Blogs are very popular and they do sell books! After all it is 2010. So go ahead and post more, I feel that there were times when I waited for people to catch up, but then when I did that, the posts that I had “saved up” were then old to me and didn’t excite me as much to post them and just sat in the back memories of my mind and didn’t get posted at all.
    I, for one would love to hear you talk more about this book even if you’ve posted about it in the past. Bring me up to “now”

    1. Thanks for the great comment Ms. Sandy. I don’t usually read previous posts when I’m visiting blogs. I might if a blogger has made it a “must-read” in order to understand his or her current post.

      I tell myself there’s not enough time for me to post more often, plus I don’t get “paid” for blogging. Don’t get me wrong though, the enjoyment I get from writing and posting to my blog is payment enough. But as a paid gardening columnist, I think I should be focusing more on finding paying gigs as opposed to blogging for free.

      I might blog about my book idea in an upcoming post.

  3. You know, I seriously don’t WANT my favorite bloggers to post every day! If I only followed a few, that might be fine, but even then, there’s NO WAY I could keep up. I can’t keep up now and I feel guilty about it. I started blogging because I enjoy writing and gardening. I can’t do it all, including reading everyone’s blog every day.

    Well, anyway, I love “Spring!”

  4. In my mind, writing a book and having it published is not the same as blogging. Maybe the publishers want to see more blog stats before they believe in you but I think they should believe in the book and not give a rats patootie about a blog. How did this publisher survive before blogs, I must ask? What ever you do, do what makes you happy as that is what life is all about in the end. Learn to handle rejection and let it make you a stronger person inside and out for it. Keep your chin up or as my coaching family would say, Suck it up and keep going forward 🙂 ya, I come from a tough family….

    1. Skeeter, I’m not sure what a publisher is driving at when they ask how active you are on blogs and social networking sites. I will say this, he offered some other tips and advice that I think was quite useful. So, I’d have to give him a rating of about 7 for his ability to reject me with some amount of grace.

      Suck it up? Yes ma’am! 😉

  5. So are perspective publishers using blogs as determining factors as to who gets published? If so, what did they do before blogs? I would think someone should be published according to how good their writing was and not how many fans their blogs have.

    1. I think they’re using them to get an indication of a perspective author’s popularity. From what I’m learning, publishers are expecting authors to put forth a tremendous amount of effort selling their own books. If you’re a popular blogger, it might make a publisher think you’d be a popular author as well and sell lots of books via your blog, Twitter, or Facebook. It’s bewildering Ms. Susie.

  6. TC,

    I guess I’m one who does blog 6-7 days a week but I don’t think you have to. What Sandy said makes sense. What does a book deal have to do with blogging? They can work together but neither one is dependent on the other, or shouldn’t be. I blog nearly everyday as an outlet for grown-up activities. As a stay-at-home dad I don’t really get to talk to other adults with any regularity. When the kids nap and I need to be quiet I can blog. Blogging should fit the person which is what it’s all about. BTW Spring looks pretty good to me!

    1. If a publisher equates many blog posts to many followers, then I reckon he might relate that to many folks that’d buy your book. He and I talked over the phone once and he asked how active I was on Twitter and Facebook, wanting to know how many followers and fans I had on each.

      I was a stay-at-home dad too, still am to some extent.

  7. Dear TC, After much trial and error, including posting every single day, we have come to the conclusion that three times a week is perfect. For us, anyway. As for the refection, I was writing a post for Monday about Dr. Seuss, whose birthday is the next day but since we ALWAYS post on M-W-F, and my readers know that, well, to the point….. I read that his first book was rejected 37 times before being published. Hope that puts things in perspective for you. I have also come to the conclusion that the writing has to please YOU first and foremost, whether for the blog or for a book or magazine. Just keep plugging away, one day at a time and don’t let your emotions and self worth be tied to the publishers.
    Frances

    1. Ms. Frances: I wonder if I set up a blogging schedule to post every third day, or more frequent. One of the reasons I don’t post more often is because I think those who come won’t have a chance to read my latest post if I keep posting new ones (does that make any sense?).

      I think I wear my feelings on my sleeve more than most. The rejection still stings.

  8. I agree that people should build up their fan base, but that advice is simplistic. Does the frequency of posts matter if the quality isn’t good?

    Four to five posts a week seems a little excessive, you have to give people a chance to catch up. Unless you’re already famous or an extremely good writer not all of your “fans” are going to read every post.

  9. I don’t see what blogging has to do with publishing a book, although I’m not quite sure what you were trying to have published. I need to visit more often and read more of your blog. Right now it’s rather late and time to get some sleep.
    Wanted to stop in and say hello. Hope your having a great week-end.
    I love what the other two people wrote for comments on this.

    1. Thanks for stopping by Ms. Sleepy Sandy. ;~)

      My book is about gardening. It’s tough getting one published traditionally these days, what with all you can eat available as fast food online.

  10. Blogging means different things to different people. Sure, I could post every day, but I would definitely not have time to visit other blogs and comment, and that is what makes blogging important and “worth”while to me. I enjoy the exchange of ideas, and other bloggers–like you–inspire and encourage me.

    1. Thank you W2W, I’m inspired by you too. I really don’t think I could blog every day, and the regularity of my posts varies depending on how busy I am with other things (bus driving, the kids, wife, house, car, truck, yardens, etc., etc.).

  11. Excellent question. Do you wish to give up your band to blog? I wouldn’t. The good quality of our life is so short here that I would wish to fill my days with ideas and people that brought me a medium to high degree of happiness. There are
    some things that cannot be avoided (laundry, food shopping). However, I hope that family and good friends will be the last things that this body will enjoy before I depart this lifetime. My computer and camera will most probably not be invited.

      1. Oh, that’s wonderful news. I will be able to pester you here and in the hereafter!
        But do blog when you have something to say and not merely to meet an
        arbitrary goal of a nameless publisher. Speak from your heart and not your
        wallet. It’ll feel better, too.

Leave a Reply

