Weather like this scares me!

After last year’s late blight epidemic, I’m very watchful of my tomatoes and potatoes. I’ve allowed lots of space around my tomato plants this year, three feet between each. And the potatoes are growing in straw mulch, which should provide some protection. I’ve also mulched the tomatoes heavily with straw, and I’ve started a 5-7 day fungicide spray application.  However, there are no guarantees, and with rain and cooler weather settling in, the chances for another late blight appearance in my garden are probably some better than they were a few days ago when it was hot and dry.

Nevertheless, the summer gardening routine goes much as it has for the past 25 or 30 years. But it never gets old, as I don’t seem to be getting tired of growing things. Sometimes I wish I would get tired of it, but something out there keeps calling me, and I keep answering.

I’m late with my nasturtium GROW project report, and offer an apology to Mr Brown Thumb for my lack of ambition. I’ll offer an early review of ‘Spitfire’ now, before it’s flowered: disappointing. I was expecting a much more vigorous growth spurt once I planted my seedling into its new home – a container with good organic potting soil. But what I’m getting so far is a droopy, lazy, unattractive, resemblance of something akin to a nasturtium. Maybe it’s how I’m letting mine trail out, instead of having it vine up? We’ve still some growing to do yet, so I’m hoping for a better result by season’s end.

“I’m growing Nasturtium ‘Spitfire’ for the GROW project. Thanks, to Renee’s Garden for the seeds.”

Share

15 Comments

  1. From your posts it appears that you’ve transplanted your Nasties a couple of times. I’ve never had good luck with Nasties that I’ve transplanted. They always look kind of spindly and sad. Do you have some extra seeds that you could try direct sowing?

    1. Hi Ms. Eva, thanks for stopping by. I think you brought up a good point about this particular variety – they don’t transplant well. And if that’s the case, I’ve learned a good lesson with this trial. I planted a couple more seeds in that same pot but they’ve yet to sprout, I’m wondering if they will because it’s been over a week. I also sowed a few directly into the garden but they’ve not sprouted yet either. Which is beginning to make me wonder if I got a good batch of seeds to start with.

    1. I don’t think it’s the seeds Mr BT. I think it’s this particular variety of nasturtium. I’ll not coddle it along if it ain’t climbin on its own, and I don’t think ‘Spitfire’ appreciates my neglect.

  2. Wow…your ‘Spitfire’ looks kind of sad, doesn’t it? I wonder why. I’ve got one in a container, too, and while it’s not doing quite as well as those in the ground, it’s looking good. That almost looks like you should prune it, but then that would defeat the vining thing, wouldn’t it?

  3. We got way too much rain and no sun north of Seattle this year. Which makes the tomatoes goes crazy and the cucumber don’t even sprout. Was going to drop some potatoes in this week and try them this year as a new item in my garden..didn’t know i needed straw. thanks for the great site and wise advice. joseph agrowingfamily.wordpress.com

  4. Well I’m having to fight heat and no rain down here. My veggies look pathetic and it makes me wonder why I keep planting them. I tried growing squash in a pot this year and finally got beautiful plants but the fruits are rotting and not filling out. I think I will throw the towel in on trying to grow them.

  5. Maybe Spitfire needs something to make it irate. A name like that suggests a temper. Have you tried yelling at it? Maybe some plants don’t like to be coddled. It’s good to see you back to posting.

Leave a Reply

