Computers, books, and “Gardening Through the Seasons with The Write Gardener”

Two occurrences: I had to get a new computer and I’ve decided to self-publish a collection of my best gardening articles. I wonder if it took a drastic thing like my old computer going bad and me getting a new one to inspire me to get this book thing done? I think it has, plus the fact that I’m in “a period of stagnation or inactivity,” thanks to the dog days of summer.

Dog days, as defined by Merriam-Webster, is “the period between early July and early September when the hot sultry weather of summer usually occurs in the northern hemisphere.” And then there’s the origination story involving the Dog Star “Sirius” and “the ancient Greek constellation system.” To find out more, Bing it and choose a link you like.

Books and computers (and by “computers” I mean the Internet and/or Web) are developing a new relationship. And if you’re a writer you’ve probably been aware of this development for some time. It’s the new e-book thing that has also played a role in why I decided to choose self-publishing over traditional publishing methods. From a recent article in The New York Times: “In the first five months of 2009, e-books made up 2.9 percent of trade book sales. In the same period in 2010, sales of e-books, which generally cost less than hardcover books, grew to 8.5 percent, according to the Association of American Publishers.”

I’ve just begun the arduous task of deciding which articles from over 300 or more that I’ll use in my book. It’s a completely subjective decision making process, for the most part. My editor (there’s two actually, me and my wife) has already expressed her dislike of two opening paragraphs I use in the preface. I ramble (whine?) some about the traditional publishing process in those two paragraphs and my wife said no one would want to read about that kind of stuff. She might be right, or not.

It feels good to be doing this, and I’m more of an editor for the book than a writer since the articles have already been written. I’m organizing everything into one document, and I’m not sure how many pages I’ll end up with. The cost of color photos must be taken into account and there will be few of them, if any. I’m thinking about asking my older brother to contribute a few pencil drawings, his artwork is stunning, and isn’t botanical drawings extremely charming and old-worldish feeling? I think his drawings would look perfect in “Gardening Through the Seasons with the Write Gardener.” Do you like the title?

Spotted knapweed (a drawing I found somewhere, not one by my older brother)

Share

10 Comments

  1. Great! Keep us posted about the release date. I’ve never bought an e-book before so I’m excited at the prospect of yours being the first one. You’re so lucky to have an illustrator in the family as well as a patient spouse.

    1. Indeed I am lucky Ms.I! My brother’s art work is really beautiful. I have some photos of some of his work that I’m going to post here soon.

      Thanks for the kind words and for the advice in your email. I’m writing you back now!

  2. Yes, I for one love the title ! That would be great for your Brother to do the drawings for you.
    I had to get a new computer too. My old girl just wasn’t like she used to be πŸ˜‰
    Keep on ………….

  3. I’m so excited that you’re doing the book! Books are kinda my thing, you know. And gardening. That’s kinda my thing, too. Books and gardens. Love them both.

    If you want someone to do a review once it’s finished, please keep me in mind! I’m already a fan. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

