Lazy Blogger

I should blog and tweet more often. It makes me write about stuff other than gardening. And all the pundits say it helps with marketing yourself. But that’s something that I can’t seem to get enthused about because I think it verges on the narcissistic. I’ll have to get an attitude adjustment come next spring though, that’s when “Through the Seasons with The Write Gardener” makes its debut. I’ll be traveling here and there selling it, and you’ll be buying! Won’t you?

I’ve made several blog posts about the nasturtium ‘Spitfire’ that I’m trialing for Renee’s Garden (along with other bloggers in the Nasturtium ‘Spitfire’ GROW project). I mentioned that it’s done best in soil that’s not been amended, at least that’s been the case here. The flowers and leaves are edible, with a strong peppery flavor, but we’ve neglected to use them in salads for some unknown reason. (A lot of things are neglected for unknown reasons, sadly.)

At first I didn’t think I’d be recommending ‘Spitfire,’ but it’s done well enough in untreated dirt to be used again in such areas. I haven’t checked the other growers to see if they’ve had better luck with it climbing, Renee’s has it labeled as a climbing variety. I had it in a pot and wanted to see how it would look spilling over and down, but it didn’t much care to be grown like that. I guess my final rating out of ten would be a five, six tops. I don’t think I’ll be growing this variety in the future, but y’all might want to try it. You’ll find the link to Renee’s Garden at the bottom of this post.

N. 'Spitfire'
Peppery Flavored Flowers of N. 'Spitfire'
Colorful Poison Ivy
Milkweed aphids, I think

And just for fun…

What's going on here?

“I grew Nasturtium ‘Spitfire’ for the GROW project. Thanks, to Renee’s Garden for the seeds.”

Share

20 Comments

  1. Wow the spitfire is gorgeous. I will have to give it a try down here or at least read to see if will tolerate the high heat and humidity, two things that are thankfully fading fast.
    The poison ivy is beautiful and most people would never suspect that it is poison. I have some growing out along my fence line that scares me everytime I see it. I just keep saying to myself “leaves of three….let it be” but who can remember that all the time?
    I’m still trying to figure out what the story is with Barney. lol
    Congrats on the book!

  2. You nasturtiums are outstanding. Maybe you started everything early this year? With the late season drought, most of my garden is languishing… id it affect yours? Nasturtiums are supposed to withstand drought, and looks like yours did, but my ground got powder dry- did you water much to keep the blooms looking so good?

    1. The other nasties I planted around the landscape didn’t do much at all Ms. Ilona. But those in the photo here were tossed onto unamended dirt and they flourished. I also think this variety prefers to crawl and creep rather than climb or vine.

  3. My spitfire didn’t like summer weather/ heat, etc. It didn’t want to climb, either. But in early Spring and now in Fall, it’s looking pretty good again. I won’t grow it again, but it was a fun project and a good experiment.

    1. SG: When I clicked to go to your site I got the following prompt in a new window:

      “Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!
      The website at yardisgreen.blogspot.com contains elements from the site rpc.blogrolling.com, which appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer.”

      Can you explain it?

  4. Holy smokes on the poison ivy! I’m breaking out in hives just looking at your pic. Those vines are crazy! I have some neighbors who have trees like that and I can’t figure it out. The spitfire sure is a bright orange.

    1. My nasty did great in nasty dirt so if I plant them again next season, I”m finding another spot with dirty dirt. I’ll let them sprawl too, that way I don’t have to fool with tying them to a trellis or lattice work to get them to climb.

  5. My spitfire didn’t amount to much of anything. It was fun to plant it but it must not have liked being transplanted. I’ll have to try it again next year. Let me know if you travel down the Tennessee way on your book travels!

  6. Well, TC, you’re probably not going to sell many books to bloggers if you start labeling them as narcissistic. Geez, I hate psycho-babblers’ pigeon-holing. It makes me think of a time when women were thought, no, expected to be hysterical because of their uteri. Blogging regularly–and I mean visiting and making thoughtful comments on other blogs, not just posting–is work, pro bono, maybe, but still work. I’m not so sure about tweeting or face-booking.

    1. Ha ha! Define “psycho-babblers’ pigeon-holing” please W2W (include an example). Not all bloggers are narcissistic, and it’s oftentimes hard to detect because some have turned it into an art form. 🙂

Leave a Reply

