In keeping with…

I write, therefore I am. And so in keeping with my forte, I need to begin a more vigorous schedule of blogging, and since tweeting is also a form of writing, I should make an attempt to do that more often as well.

If you’re wondering what might have caused this sudden increase in my urgency to write, it has much to do with a book I’m preparing for self-publication, and a keynote speaker request.

I have to make myself write. You’d think it’d come naturally; after all, I claim “Freelance Writer” as my job title, so writing should be easy, right? It is and it isn’t. When I know what I’m going to write about, it’s easy, when I don’t it’s not. So, you’d think I’d make it easier on myself to know the topic beforehand, but most of the time I don’t. I wonder if having a list of topics would help? I could set up a schedule of weekly topics, I’d need 52 of them. I think that’s a good idea, I never thought of doing that before now. (Having a list of topics would also be great for my garden lectures.)

Would y’all help me out please? It’d sure be nice if you’d mention a few things in a comment. It can be any topic about any aspect of gardening and/or gardens. And if y’all would come up with 52 of them, I’d not have to do anything but the writing about it part! Thanks so much for your input and I know I’ll see lots of great suggestions!

Some of you are philosophers, I just know it. So I thought I’d include a link to some Renรฉย Descartes text and let him explain how he came up with the phrase “I think, therefore I am.” I sometimes have doubts about what is really truth and what isn’t. But all of us have those same doubts and it takes a fair amount of wisdom to discern Truth from Untruth. Or as Descartes puts it: “And I judged that I might take it as a general rule that the things which we conceive very clearly and very distinctly are all true, and that the only difficulty lies in the way of discerning which those things are that we conceive distinctly.”

Which is the true Martha?

Share

21 Comments

    1. That was before I was asked to be a keynote speaker, I have to get my book ready before April 9 so I can have some to sell! So, I’ve been really busy trying to finish putting it together, which is taking a lot longer than I thought.

  1. You are my hero! I can’t believe you found out what it was!
    HURRAY! I am so relieved to find out it is not a weed. It’s so beneath this beautiful tree/bush.

    THANK YOU! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Well I would love to give you an idea but I’m drawing big blanks right now. Have you noticed my blog lately? Nothing great going on there. Gardening just didn’t do it for me this year. I guess you might say I was unmotivated due to the temps and drought.

    So, I guess there’s an idea. Xeriscaping.

  3. I called four different garden centers and the last person I talked to said he thought it was some kind of ancient “weed” possibly. Hence why it is growing amongst other weeds. It resembles thistle, but not the thistle I keep pulling up on google images. It’s still baffling me !

  4. Maybe “escape reality” wasn’t the best choice of words. Manipulate the truth? Circumscribe it? Because let’s face it: a garden permits no affectation, and it won’t grow much if kept in the dark. So if a person thought she could escape reality by gardening, she would be delusional. It draws the truth out from deep inside the gardener. The truth, from the Greek word “aletheia,” is the ” reality lying at the basis of an appearance; the manifested, veritable essence of a matter.” You could probably think of 52 ways that a gardener tries to get around the truth or delude himself (the soil’s no good, the weather was too hot or too cold, there was too much rain or not enough…) Truth becomes situational when relativistic thinking takes over.

    1. Are writers of fiction only trying to escape their own personal reality? I’ve heard it called “faction,” meaning it’s their own “made up” truth. I suppose that’s manipulative and circumscribing. The garden writer keeps to the garden’s truth when writing about it, or at least I do.

      1. I’ve heard it called trying to maintain balance or achieve equilibrium. Legends, parables, stories, what-have-you help us untangle the mess we’re faced with on a daily basis (life) and reassemble it so that it’s not so scary. Work the soil, so to speak. It may be manipulative, but that’s the way ideas take root and grow. Some good, some bad. But ultimately, who figures out what’s good and what’s bad and tries to sway public opinion one way or another? The storyteller. And then there is the songwriter. Always looking for that sweet harmony.

  5. I’ve never thought about having a plan for blogging. It’s just whatever strikes my fancy at a particular time, and maybe it’s not even every week. Maybe it’s twice a week. Why is 52 so important? And what the heck does Martha Stewart have to do with it? Actually, probably neither one of them is the true Martha because both have had some kind of plastic surgery or other beauty enhancement like Botox injections. How about this for an idea? Fifty-two ways to escape reality which don’t include turning off the television, and they can all be found in the garden. Yours, of course, unless you decide to tour the country in a bus to find hard-luck stories and do extreme garden makeovers. Seriously, mine could use some help.

    1. My 52 weeks of topics request isn’t for the blog Ms. I, it’s for my weekly newspaper column. A list of topics for each week of the 52-week year would cut down on the time I spend staring at a blank screen before an idea hits me.

      The photos of Martha have more to do with what I said in the last italicized paragraph. The photo on the left is on the cover of the latest issue of MSL, the one on the right is from an insert within that issue. I found the difference between how she looks in each quite startling. It made me doubtful that she really existed outside of my own mind.

      And I’m not much interested in ways to escape reality, if I were to escape it, I’d be lost, and how much fun would that be? On the other hand, you could possibly find me lecturing about gardening somewhere in your neck of the woods in the future.

  6. hmmmmm, it really is hard to write when you don’t have anything particular on your mind. So let me think a minute, ahhhh yes:
    There is a tree in the woods out back that looks like it has tiny wispy white feathers on it. And if that wasn’t enough, I saw them all day today growing wild (usually among tons of weeds) and I just love them. I wonder what they might be. I know it would help if I took a picture and posted it on my blog, so maybe I will.

    Also I smell deeply perfumed musky scents all summer long only at night. I have tried to trace the smell, but to no avail. I wonder what that might be. But then again you aren’t here in SC so maybe it’s just a SC thing? thang?
    Nice pictures of Martha, I would say they are both her depending on what she has on her mind to write about ๐Ÿ˜‰

      1. Thanks TC, it seems the musky scents are gone now, but they are wonderful and downright intoxicating. I do however have the mystery tree on my blog now for you to inspect. Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. TC –
    I get up early each morning and think about the day before; as with all of my minds wanderings, the spider web of ideas spins out of control. I grab one idea or two and they take off – I cannot explain how it exactly happens – it just does. If I do ever draw a blank, the internet search engine does the same thing – one thought leads to another….
    Good luck with your 52 ideas of what to write about, nature abounds, bring your wife for a visit here on my little acre and grab an idea or two.
    JCM

    1. Hi Ms. Julie! I’m up early, 5:30, only because I drive a school bus. ๐Ÿ˜›

      There are lots of writers who probably get up an hour or so earlier than they have to so that they can spend a few minutes writing. I’ve never done so. As a matter of fact, I don’t have a scheduled time for writing. Maybe I should have.

      And I just might take you up on that visit to your “little acre!” ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. TC –
      The sunrise yesterday morning was NOT red, that is why I chose to write (copy from the internet) about the sunrise being red the day before. Check out the next sunrise, although here in PA you might not see sun every morning as you well know.

      Poison Ivy is growing EVERYWHERE on my property. Do you have any secrets on how to get rid of it besides digging it up? Although it is a beautiful red in the fall, the shiny leaves in the summer are not everyone’s favorite. I even need to ‘weed’ it from my flower/shrub beds, with gloves on of course!!

      1. Hi again Ms. Julie. It seems like once November rolls around, the sun exits western PA! Last week was surely gorgeous though, with bright sunshine every day!

        About that poison ivy, If you keep mowing over it, it’ll eventually die out. As for it being in your flower beds, I recommend a strong herbicide such as Round Up, use it in the spring just as new growth appears. I usually won’t recommend harsh chemicals, but with poison ivy and yellow jackets, all bets are off!

Leave a Reply

