‘Only the lonely…’

I’m very fortunate to know a bunch of kind-hearted, helpful people within the writing community. But it’s taken a while to develop that relationship, I’ve been peckin out words for my weekly gardening articles for eight years, and I’ve been a member of the Garden Writers Association for seven. You’d think that I would’ve gotten to know a bunch of writers during that time, but I haven’t. I only know a handful by name, and practically all of those are online contacts only.

In some ways, writing is a lonely profession. And I’m not even sure if the type of writing I do can be classified as a profession – Freelance Writer – doesn’t sound very professional does it? Nevertheless, it’s something I’ve chosen to do, without really giving much thought beforehand about whether or not it’d pay a bill or two. But I think I limit myself by not writing about other stuff; surely there’s more to write about besides gardening. The dilemma for me is finding out how.

Progress on Through the Seasons is coming along nicely. I’ve got all the articles in, and I’m adding illustrations by  my brother, Donald Conner, as quick as he gets them to me, and some “knuckle draggin” essays are also tucked in. Ms. Betty Mackey has made several great suggestions that I’ve taken into consideration, LK Hunsaker has also offered advice and tips, and bloggers like Walk2Write, and Kylee, among others have inspired me as well.

I owe a special debt of thanks to Phillip Hartsock, with Linfork Publishing, who is helping me with all the major formatting for Through the Seasons with The Write Gardener. I’m looking forward to its spring debut!!

Share

7 Comments

  1. TC, I’m so honored that you mentioned me here. It was YOU who reached out to ME in the beginning and we’ve enjoyed an online friendship and are fellow garden writers because of our passions – the passions that we followed.

    As Elizabeth said, you are a WRITER. Period. You have a way with words, no matter what it is you bring to the table for the rest of us to enjoy.

  2. I’ve always thought “Freelance Writer” sounded very professional.

    I’ve been blessed to always have the presence of other writers–my cousins write, and in college I made some pretty solid writer-friends online (through NaNoWriMo–yay!). And of course right now I’m in an MFA program.

    But ultimately, writing is an act of solitude. Everyone writes alone.

  3. Aw, shucks! You’re sweet. I think it’s wonderful that your brother is involved too. Photos are nice, but artwork is really special. I will definitely promote your book on my blog. We’ve got to get the word out. Have you thought about a contest of some kind with a copy of the book as a prize? I’ve been visiting a lot of writers’ blogs lately, and they really put themselves out there to let people know what’s been published and how their WIPs are coming along. Apparently, the follower thing on Blogger is something agents and publishers look at closely. Kinda silly, but that’s the way it is for most writers now.

    Have you thought about writing a novel that incorporates gardening? Sci-fi? Mystery? Historical? I know you’ve got a story just waiting to be written down.

    1. Thank you Ms. I! The contest idea is a good one, I’ll definitely come up with something. When I think about “other” types of writing, a memoir always comes into view. But I’d be afraid I’d alienate myself from everyone in my family if I wrote about all “that stuff.”

Leave a Reply

