Inside-out

You know what? I’m kinda tired of hearin about “outdoor rooms” in the garden. When I’m outside I want to feel like I’m outside, and when I’m inside I want to feel like I’m inside. I think the term “outdoor living space” has outworn its usefulness.

I don’t know, it just seems odd that you’d want “hallways” in your garden instead of grassy paths leading from one flowerbed to the next. I’ve seen garden “rooms” with free-standing glass windows and have a hard time understanding the concept of looking outside while standing outside.

I never really got into the “outdoor room” craze that a lot of landscape designers and home gardeners had, and still have. Some of these “rooms” don’t look like a garden at all, what’s the point? I mean there’s what looks like real furniture in some of these “rooms.”

But I reckon since we’re all unique we each have our own idiosyncrasies. Several years ago I saw a garden down in Louisiana (or was it Mississippi?) that featured a tree with bicycles hangin from it. Makes you wonder about some folks don’t it?

"A furnished garden"
I share my outdoor "rooms" with groundhogs.

My thanks to the folks at Designers on Design and Vanessa Gardner Nagel for inspiring this post.

5 Comments

  1. With the price of meat being what it is, ever wonder how groundhog stew would taste? I’m with you on the outdoors thing. Our renters are more into the “living space” kind of crap. Pardon my French:)

  2. I couldn’t agree more. We are getting a little “affected”. If I want to decorate a room, I want to call it a room, not a “space”. Years ago I was told to call customers clients. It sounded more professional. I AM professional. K.I.S.S.

Leave a Reply

