Talk write

Warning: I’m gonna attempt to write like I talk. Therefore you’ll see the “n” dropped from some words that end with “ing.” You might also see “y’all” used a time or two, and you’ll probably see other words and phrases typed usin a south-central Kentucky dialect.

I was visiting Seth’s Blog where he said to “Write like you talk. Often.” That made me think that I probably don’t write often, and when I’m writing articles for publication I don’t write like I talk. Except for now, in this blog post. But it’ll be published, so in this case I am writing like I talk (except for sometimes, like just then on those two occasions when I left the “g” on the end of “writing” because its use in those sentences required it). Writin about writing (see how that sounded with the “g” left off, then added? [How can you “see” how something sounds??]) is practice according to some folks (writers?), and I reckon practice is good. Seth recommends gettin a blog if y’all don’t have one so that you can write more, he even suggests turning off comments because “you don’t need more criticism, you need more writing.” Good point.

I rarely sit down just to write for writing’s sake. I think when that happens it turns into stream of consciousness writing and whoever might read it will think it’s just a bunch of gibberish. If you think it’s that, please let me know in a comment, I didn’t turn them off.

Pole Tree (Polemus freaktreesia)
4 Comments

Leave a Reply

