Bad Blogger, Good Worm

I still haven’t figured it out yet! Maybe I should try marking a specific date on my calendar for blog postings. Is that how most of you do it? If not, how do you stay on a regular blogging schedule? I think sticking to a calendar date might be too tough for me. But how hard can that be?? It wouldn’t be if I’d just do it!

I thought it would be easy to become a better blogger when I decided to post recently published articles from my newspaper column; but I can’t even do that on a regular basis!

I have been reading regularly though; finished Walter Isaacson’s biography of Steve Jobs over the winter (click here for a review) and fellow garden writer Amy Stewart’s “The Earth Moved: On the Remarkable Achievements of  Earthworms” is being consumed at the present time. I learned something at the very beginning of her book that kind of surprised me: Charles Darwin’s last book was an in-depth analysis and study of earthworms. His work was detailed to the Nth degree! The full text of Darwin’s “The Formation of Vegetable Mould Through the Action of Worms, With Observations on Their Habits” can be read here, and you don’t have to get very far into it before you realize that Darwin had the curiosity of a child. Go to Page 5, and read the 5th paragraph to get an idea of how involved Darwin became with his experiments on a worm’s hearing capability.

Amy Stewart's 2004 publication on how to better understand earthworms.

Stewart’s book is holding my interest, her writing style in The Earth Moved is pleasant; easy to read, and yet difficult enough to make you want to learn more about what she says. And she seems genuinely intrigued by an underground denizen that doesn’t get much exposure in the gardening world. In the Prologue she writes: “Millions- no, billions- of organisms inhabit my little piece of land, and it shocks me to realize how little I know of them.” I get the feeling early on that one of Ms. Amy’s purposes is to reiterate the importance of and reeducate us on all things wormy. The book has an original publication date of 2004, and I’m wondering why I’m just now finding out about it. The soil in my garden has been plowed for years by earthworms, do they really need my help? In the coming weeks, I’ll finish Ms. Amy’s book and I’m positive it’ll help me be more worm friendly.

From time to time I receive a book, a tool, or flower from a friend or particular business. I don’t pay anything for what’s given, and I don’t get anything for writing about it here. What I try to do is provide a little insight about a product or item that I find interesting. It’s hoped you’ll glean a little something from what I say.  

7 Comments

  1. I have found that I just need something that motivates me to want to write something down and share it. Currently I am probably posting too much, but then I will probably get busy and not do anything for a week or so. Actually, just going to the blog is sometimes reminder enough (like to clear the spam folder).

  2. Who needs regularity? Well, maybe it’s necessary in some aspects of life. Blogging isn’t one of them, IMHO. Whatever suits you best is best. Speaking of worms, I refuse to let the pest control guy spray the yard for fire ants because I’m afraid of what it might do to the earthworms, among other things. Am I being paranoid?

    1. Hahahaha!! Indeed, it’s often quite necessary for the aged! About that worm question, I’ve not read enough about them yet to know if they’d be affected by pesticides. But I would almost be willin to bet a Yankee dime that it probably isn’t good for them! And why does he have to spray the entire yard? Isn’t it just the mounds that need destroyed?

      1. No, there has to be a blanket of poison (according to the pest control guy). Otherwise a few of the critters get away and begin a new mound. These things must be the most tenacious and ferocious ants that God ever created. I keep thinking they must hold some secret cure for cancer or maybe dementia. Why else would they be so prolific and annoying?

    2. I read about an interesting way to manage fire ants, but it ideally needs two people (you’ll see what I mean in a moment). Take a shovelful of one mound and a shovel of another and exchange them (put them where the other was), but make sure there is enough distance between them that they are not part of the same colony. Being the aggressive creatures they are this will start localized “ant wars” as the relocated crowd attempt to destroy the queen where they have been put. I have heard it is very successful.

      Another idea I read about is to pour urine on the mounds – regularly. I believe I read that certain cattle ranchers found there were fewer ants in the fields heavily used by cattle.

      Let us know if either one works.

  3. Maybe you shouldn’t apologize and consider blogging like writing a fine book. If people comment along the way, then that is great. Or if you really feel bad about not blogging so often, why not just show a nature photo every now and then? It doesn’t have to be earth moving (no pun intended) 😉

    try reading this: http://www.tartx.com/blog/?page_id=233

    1. Hey Ms. Sandy, that’s great advice. And thanks for the link to the “blogging without obligation” piece, it was an interesting read. I reckon even if I call myself a writer I’m not obligated to write all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

