Censured

I suppose you can’t make everyone happy all of the time. That’s old news anyway, and I highly doubt that any of us really try to please everyone. But just who are we supposed to please? Mom and Dad? Brother and Sister? Aunt or Uncle? Employer? Employee? It’s actually quite difficult to know, although staunch Christians and other God-fearing folk would probably say that you’re supposed to please God and all the other pleasing will take care of itself. Okay then.

What about displeasing? Who does all that? We do. I have, recently. Want to hear more? Too bad, this is my blog and I can rant and rave all I want. You’re most welcome to leave, but I’d rather you didn’t, or if you do, at least be courteous and leave a short comment telling me….well, never mind, just leave.

I infuriated the editor of the paper I write for, and according to her I also slammed the paper in the process. I did all this without even naming the paper or its editor, but I’m so good at it that it was displeasure to the Nth degree, and evidently I dolled out enough of it to put my job as a columnist for the paper in jeopardy. What was the displeasure? I voiced my opinion on a subject publicly (via Facebook). But wait a minute….isn’t there something in the Constitution about freedom of speech? Or does that not apply when the opinion you voice is about something that is published in the same media that you are also published in? I suppose it produced a conflict of displeasing interest.

I hope to continue writing for the publication that I unknowingly slammed. I suppose only time will tell.

Until then, please please me and yourself by listening to the pleasing sounds of my band Mandolin Whiskey, just click here and click the play button.

2 Comments

  1. You can’t please everybody, all the time. I believe we as humans, try to please our loved ones for the most part. We don’t want to hurt those we love, therefore we tend to hold their opinions to a higher regard.

    In regards to that one amendment you mentioned, I rekon not everyone understands it the way you or I do. In the recent past I had something like this happen. Not to this degree but apparentlyI some ppeople don’t have a strong of a back bone as we do. This was just another reason to leave Facebook and go to Twitter. Twitter only allows 68 characters to be in an update. I guess that’s less chance to piss someone. Or at least that’s how I see it.

    Happy writing Dad!

Leave a Reply

