Why you’ll never win an argument with your wife

I’m utterly amazed at my brain’s inability to grasp the fact that it (i.e., me) will never EVER, EVER be able to win an argument against the brain of a woman (i.e., my wife). Try as it might, with all those millions of neurons firing every which way, it’s just a helpless, hapless and hopeless attempt. It’s kind of explained in the video below, but to get the full gist of it, you must: a. Be married to a woman. b. Been married to a woman. c. Argued with a woman. d. All of the above.

Even before the argument starts, I know I’ll not win. Shortly after the disagreement presents itself  my brain is telling me to shut up. “You know you’re not going to get anywhere!”  And yet, I do it anyway. Why? Male competitiveness of course,  fueled by that ever present hormone we store in endless quantities – testosterone. I’ll keep doing it, and I’ll keep losing, but it doesn’t mean that I’ll stop wishing for a win.

 

2 Comments

  1. Well, I think my SAM is the exception to the rule. His brain never shuts off, not even at night. By the way, yes you can win an argument. Just buy her some pretty flowers, get her a gift certificate for a massage, and she’ll forget what the argument was all about. It kicks the sympathetic nervous system (fight or flight) in the bum and lets the parasympathetic system (drift away without a care in the world) have its way.

Leave a Reply

