Writing a novel (maybe)

I took the plunge, if you can call it that.

I started my first serious attempt at writing fiction. Chapter 1 is complete, and I’m almost at 2 pages on Chapter 2. I’ve not titled it yet, maybe something will come to me later. I have no idea how many pages should be in each chapter, and didn’t really know when Chapter 1 would be complete. I didn’t even know what I’d write about until I Googled “writing prompts.” I guess there’s really no set procedure, is there? Maybe I should get some pointers from my good friend LK Hunsaker who’s written several books, she’s the one I blame for putting this novel idea in my head!

And the ideas just keep coming. Here’s an excerpt from Chapter 1:

She always watched for Teewolfe as soon as she took to the air because she knew it would be searching for her. As she got more experience flying, it became harder for Teewolfe to get close to her and Lesley knew that if Teewolfe ever caught her she would be eaten. Chewed. Swallowed. Digested. Dead.

I’ve gotten several early reviews; my wife said it’s hard to follow but the writing’s good, my 19-year old son said he can’t wait to read more, and my 17-year old daughter said “interesting.” This encourages me to write more, even though the reviewers are probably a little biased.

8 Comments

  1. Just keep going, TC! You shouldn’t worry too much about shoulds when you start out; just do it. A chapter “should” be whatever length it needs to be. 😉 Some more stringent guidelines might disagree, but novels are art and the artist must be true to himself first.

  2. All of your concerns will sort themselves out eventually. Do not put too much pressure on yourself, or the particulars. It’s great to start, and not worry. I just wrote about this on my blog, which you might enjoy. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

