New cameras and whatnot

I’ve upgraded to a new (new to me) camera after many years with my old reliable Sony DSC H1. I purchased a slightly used Canon PowerShot S100, and I’m still in the process of learning how to use it. I’m also teaching myself (with the help of “the Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 book for digital photographers“) how to use Lightroom 4, it helps you set up an efficient “work flow” system of managing and editing your photos. I’ve not used it enough yet to develop my own work flow, but I’m getting there.

The Sony served me well over the course of many years, and if not for the fact that I needed more pixels for printing large photos, I’d have kept using it until it broke. I went from 5 megapixels with the Sony to 12 with the Canon, which should allow me to make really nice quality 8×10 prints. But of course size isn’t everything; I gave up the Sony’s super cool 12x optical zoom for the Canon’s 5 power, but there’ll always be give and take for folks on a limited budget.

Other things that have either been upgraded or are waiting in line:

  1. Wheel Horse riding mower* 
  2. Living room suite
  3. Kitchen appliances*
  4. Kitchen makeover
  5. Mobile phone(s)
  6. Acoustic/electric guitar*
  7. Vehicle(s)
  8. Bedroom furniture*
  9. Bathroom makeover
  10. The Writer Gardener’s website

(*= 20 years old or older)

The above list is a work in progress, and it may even grow so large as to require a complete home makeover! (Note: talk of such an idea has been floating around.)

Somewhere in Kentucky
Floating around somewhere in Kentucky

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

