Routine

Do you have one or two things, or routines, that you do on a regular basis? For example, my morning routine: wake up to music at 5:50 AM, put my jammies on (I sleep naked if you’re wondering, if you weren’t wondering don’t read this parenthetical thought) and proceed downstairs to greet Keurig good morning. While it’s keurilating I wet my hair, and wash my face with a cold wash cloth, yes, I said a cold wash cloth, even in winter, then I use a toothbrush with toothpaste on my tongue and upper roof of my mouth and all around inside. This destroys morning breath and is good oral hygiene. I have been following this same morning routine for as long as I can remember.

Routines can, and in lots of cases do, turn into habits. I read an interesting thing about forming habits, maybe you’ve visited Brain Pickings and saw the piece there too. I read that sometimes it can take up to a year for something to become habitual. And that the harder the task or routine is that you’re attempting to turn into a habit, the longer it takes to become a habit. My morning routine is easy and I bet it wouldn’t take long at all to become habitual for anyone else.

I think it’s odd that forming a bad habit like smoking didn’t take me very long. I guess it was the coolness factor that made it seem like it didn’t take long. I quit the smoking routine in 2003, after about 35 years of nicotine addiction.

I’m trying to establish a writing routine of some sort. Be it songwriting or short fiction pieces, and even a habitual blog post. Something different from my monthly gardening article. Something that you’ll want to read. Something that makes your brain use its dictionary. I think if your brain did that you would probably have to make reading a habit.

6 Comments

  1. Damn. Looked carefully for typos or grammatical errors and came up empty. I’ll get you sometime, TC.

    I’m not sure I should admit this, but I sleep in the nude as well. But when I wake up in the morning, I slip into a pair of jeans and a t-shirt instead of jammies, since I don’t possess jammies. Why do you even have them if you sleep in the raw?

    Anyway, back to the topic at hand, I pee first (some things take priority), then wash the face, brush the teeth, and after that I go to the kitchen to brew a fresh pot of coffee. No way I’m going to walk into my kitchen, even to brew coffee, until I’ve brushed.

    1. Hahaha! I have no doubt that you’ll find a grammar or spelling error here in no time. I also try like hell to catch mine before somebody else does. But nobody’s perfect. And I should point out that my jammies aren’t really a matched pair of pants and shirt; I wear pajama pants, a loose fitting T-shirt, and a pair of ankle socks. And maybe I should’ve added that I routinely pee once around 3:30 AM, early I know, but it’s a sign of aging I can’t really control. And who wants to read about a man’s pee times anyway?

  2. Do you REALLY sleep naked?!? OH – MY – GOODNESS!!! Well, my morning routine consists: Washing up, brushing my teeth and tongue with an electronic toothbrush, getting dressed for work, styling my hair, preparing breakfast in the kitchen for me and my family, and off to work! At night, I do 200 stomach crunches, Monday – Friday (which equals 100 crunches = 1 Ab), and leg lifts. While on my job, I do a few walking laps around the store on my two 15 minute breaks.

Leave a Reply

