I believe

I believe that everyone has an opinion about everything. But of course we can’t express our opinion about everything because nobody would ever shut up. I like to start conversations about controversial topics because doing so narrows down the choices of what to discuss. And it usually leads to folks saying things that I would not otherwise hear them say. Sometimes I’m very surprised by what other people say, more so by how they say it.

For the sake of this discussion, lets say that I want to argue a point about pro-choice. I could start out by saying something like this: “Women have the right to decide whether they want to have an abortion or not.” That’s a relatively benign statement wouldn’t you think? Yeah, I thought so too, until a fundamentalist bible thumper gets ahold of it.

I believe in God. I’ve read the bible, twice over the past couple of years. I understand a great deal of it, but there are many parts where I am completely baffled. To continue with my proposed argument, lets toss in a bible thumping fundamentalist who decides to attack my view, not by asking about my reasoning, but by judging my moral character.

As I said, I understand a large part of God’s word in the bible. And I understand that those who contributed to it were inspired by God. They were also human. And humans aren’t perfect. One of the more perfect things I take from God’s word in the bible can be found in the New Testament: “Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?” (Matthew 7:1-3, KJV)

To those who would judge my moral character because I’m pro-choice: Please, PLEASE, read those verses in Matthew beforehand.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

