A pre-diabetic’s confession

I suppose all the years of Ski, Coke, Pepsi, Mountain Dew, Barq’s root beer, double and triple cheeseburgers, adding salt unnecessarily, sitting around on my arse hours on end, has finally paid off! Of course it’s not really a beneficial pay off unless you do what I’ve done.

Juicy, sloppy, messy, UNHEALTHY burger!

Last fall I was experiencing a little trouble bending the index finger on my left hand. It got to the point where chording (I’m a working musician) my Martin became painful. I knew it was time to have it looked at, so I made an appointment to see a doctor at the local VA outpatient clinic. Y’all know the routine – before you see the doc, a nurse or an aide takes your blood pressure and asks a bunch of questions about your health history. It was the blood pressure that caught the attention of the nurse who took mine; it was up, around 170 over 90 or thereabouts. After seeing the doctor, I was told that I was pre-diabetic.

Since then I’ve made some major lifestyle changes. I don’t drink any soda, except for an occasional diet drink (which I’ve heard are no more good for you than regular, sweetened soda!), I’ve stopped adding salt to

Baby carrots and hummus
Baby carrots and hummus

everything, I’m eating healthier snacks in-between meals (celery, baby carrots, hummus, nuts, yogurt, apples and other fruits), and thank the good Lord my wife has always been a health-conscious cook so we’re both eating a very healthy breakfast, lunch, and dinner. And I’ve been hitting the “dreadmill”  for a vigorous 30 minute walk.

I’m very proud of the progress I’ve made – WITHOUT MEDICATIONS! Since the end of October, 2013, I’ve lost 17 pounds – from a hefty and unhealthy 186 lbs, to 169 lbs! My blood pressure is down and I feel better than I have in years! I go back to the doctor at the end of March for a check-up. I’m hoping the numbers are pretty close to where they should be for a 57-years young, red-blooded, Kentucky bornt and raised, American male!

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

