The Wait

It’d not be a stretch to say that waiting for spring’s arrival is agonizing. Especially if you’re an avid gardener! It’s made even more agonizing by the frigid weather we’ve had here in the northeast. Temperatures well below zero with wind chills dipping to -30! I wonder how I’d survive if such weather lasted longer than a couple of days? Folks further north up into Alaska and Canada have long stretches of frigid weather and survive, maybe I could tough it out here if I had to.

I live an hour north of Pittsburgh and a garden writer friend of mine there says his hellebores (lenten rose) are starting to bud out. I can’t even get to the leaves on mine yet, they’re still covered with snow. I could probably brush the snow away and do some clipping. But I’ll wait, it’s still too cold and I’m a weenie when it comes to being outside when temperatures aren’t above 35 degrees or more!

 

5 Comments

  1. I know the feeling. We’ve had windchills around -18 down here in KY. I’ve never experienced anything like it before. It actually hurt when I went outside to start my truck. I cannot wait until Spring is here. I’m dyin to hear the chatter of a buzz bait rolling on top of water, just waitin for a largemouth to explode on it. And the gobble of the Tom Turkey is another Spring sensation that’s just right around the corner. All I can say is, “Go home Old Man Winter, you’re drunk”!

Leave a Reply

