Fear of low phone battery

Are you one of those people who’s afraid to be stuck with a dead phone battery? Once you get to your destination, do you immediately search for the nearest receptacle or maybe a charging kiosk if you’re at a mall?

I sometimes think I’m one of those people, even when my phone battery hasn’t dropped below 50% charged. What are we afraid will happen if our phone dies on us? Will I miss an important phone call or text? Will I need to make an important phone call only to find that my phone battery is dead?

It’s not only cell phones, it’s all the other hand-held electronic gadgets we carry around – iPads and other idevices, tablets, phablets, etc., etc. We’re so connected with and to our cell phones and iPads that if we lose power to one or the other, it feels like doomsday!

I remember a time when the only electronic gadget I had was something called a transistor radio. It used a nine-volt battery and you could only listen to AM radio stations. Archaic ain’t it?

regency_tr1
Regency TR-1

It sounded terrible, but I didn’t notice back then. I think I also had an earphone, made for one ear. Imagine that, listening to music with only one earbud, how did we get through those times?

Some folks say we’d be better off if things were simpler like they were back in the days of transistor radios, hopscotch, and Etch a Sketch. I don’t know if that’d be the case or not. I guess it’s soothing, in a way, to think of simpler times; lazy nights during summer,  lying on my back in the grass gazing up at the stars, imagining what was beyond them.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy technology, the Star Rover app on my iPad takes me to the stars from a sitting position. I still wonder if there’s anything beyond the stars, wondering is timeless. However, it needs recharging every once in a while. But that’s okay, there’s no physical requirement needed to do that.

IMG_0320

 

5 Comments

  1. I am guilty of suffering from fear of a low phone battery. When I used to use a BlackBerry, I always carried around a spare battery…just in case. But with the iPhone, you can’t open up the case and replace a spent battery with a fresh one.

    So I went out and bought a “Morphie,” a portable charging device for my iPhone (and/or iPad). When my iPhone battery starts getting low, I plug my Morphie into my iPhone and it charges it right up. I don’t need to run around frantically looking for an outlet or charging kiosk.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane. I do remember those little, AM-only transistor radios and the single earphone . But since stereo broadcasts were not yet available, there was no need for stereo earphones.

Leave a Reply

