Work: “The part of a day devoted to an occupation or undertaking”

If the definition of work is what the title of this post says it is then I’ve been working since I was about 12-years old. If defined differently – an occupation or career undertaken for at least eight hours of any given day – then you could say that I’ve not worked for the past 15 years or so. Until recently.

Family and close friends know about the new job I’m currently evaluating. I said evaluating because I’m still deciding on whether or not it’s something I want to do for the next however many years I’ll be around, or until I decide to retire, whichever comes first. I’m using the company’s 90 probationary period to evaluate whether or not I’ll stay around, and they’re using that same period to decide if I’m worth keeping around.

Working
Working

Had I started about 40 years ago, I’d be making a living (or just making it at living) as a full time musician, probably lead guitarist in some folk rock band. Several friends are still on that road; making the necessary turns, crossing the necessary bridges, just to keep doing what they love to do – make music.

Alas, some of us less fortunate musicians must supplement what little we make from working with income from other sources – “work.” Either way, it’s still a part of the day, or night, devoted to an occupation or undertaking. Although if your evaluation isn’t quite right, devotion to one job often gets replaced by apathy for the other.

Leave a Reply

