What is a career?

My first job was sweeping up hair at a barber shop when I was 12 or 13. I don’t remember how long it lasted or how much it paid. The second job I had was at a veterinary clinic, don’t remember much about it either. There is one memory from the clinic that stands out; taping a cat’s front paws and back paws together so it could be given a bath.

I’ve had many jobs over the course of these 58 years, but no career. I never gave much thought to one. Considering the circumstances of my upbringing, there was no importance placed on choosing a career, there were too many other choices that took precedence. Choices that a kid shouldn’t have to make, but that’s another story.

There comes a time when we all make certain choices about where we might find meaningful employment. Whether or not this leads to a career is circumstantial I think. Does having the same job over a period of many years equate to a career? It might if that job is something you’ve chosen because you enjoy it.

For those of you like me that have worked many jobs, ones that are enjoyable and some that aren’t, arriving at something called a career is an elusive chase. But I reckon that’s part of the hunt, and I’m thankful I still have a nose for it.

2 Comments

  1. I’ve changed “jobs” a number of times and have changed “careers” at least twice. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, a career is a person’s “course or progress through life.” So using that definition, you’re a career man, having progressed through life. Congratulations on your successful career, TC.

Leave a Reply

