The Letter

Writing 101 Assigment: Be Brief 

“Mom, nevermind, I guess I’ll just leave…”

That was all it said, seven words. I was on my way to the mailbox when I spotted a crumpled up piece of paper lying in the yard. Those seven words, and the image following them – a sad-faced emote, made me wonder. I stuffed the scrawled note in my pocket, put the letter to my Mother in the mailbox and raised the flag.

The next day one of my siblings called to tell me that Mother had passed. I looked out to see if the mail had come yet, the flag was down.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

