A letter to 7

The assignment: “Writing 101: To Whom it May Concern. Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What jumps out at you? Start there, and try a twist: write in the form of a letter.” The nearest book was “The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 book for digital photographers” by Scott Kelby. What “jumped out” at me on page 29 was the number 7. Here’s where it led… 

 

7

Dear 7,

I’ve been wanting to engage with you for so long, not once or twice, not three times, “not seven times, but seventy-seven times.” And now I see that I don’t have much time left. But I know you’ve got plenty of time and have an endless supply, you’ll be around forever.

Maybe it’s supposed to work out just like it has for the last 58 years and I’ve not been aware of it. Maybe you’ve kept yourself out of reach from me for a reason.

I can’t say for sure when I’ll leave, but I know it’ll probably be sooner than later. You’ve seen millions go before me 7, many of those left without your help, I don’t want to go before getting a little help. I don’t need much and you probably wouldn’t even notice a dent in your supply.

7, my plea to you is heartfelt. I won’t be writing to you again. I know you probably have more important things to tend to besides reading letters from folks like me. But if you can find the time to give me just a little before I have to check out, it will sure make for a wonderful ending.

Thanks,

TC

7 Comments

  1. I bet you were a fan of “77 Sunset Strip” back in the day, right? And no doubt you liked the movie “Seven.” Good letter, TC.

    I have fallen behind on my Writing 101 assignments. I probably need to get back on track, but this assignment just didn’t do anything for me. I actually turned to page 29 in about five or six books, searching for a word that jumped out at me. But, alas, none did. Maybe tomorrow I’ll do an assignment.

    1. Don’t quite remember “77 Sunset Strip” Doobs. And I don’t recollect ever seein the movie “Seven.” #7 is my lucky number, that’s why it was relatively easy to come up with that little letter.

      I haven’t completed all of the Writing 101 assignments. There was one where you had to listen in on a conversation or something, it didn’t compel me to write about it. And I’ve been active outside lately with this nice stretch of warm and gorgeous weather we’ve been having. I’m sure you’ll be jumping on an assignment with gusto soon.

      1. Well, I understand how a youngster like you wouldn’t remember “77 Sunset Strip.” It was a private detective drama (with a fair share of comic relief) that ran from 1958-1964. It was one of the more popular shows at the time. And “Seven,” was a 1995 dark thriller with Morgan Freeman and Brad Pitt as detectives and involved the 7 Deadly Sins. It was the highest grossing movie of 1995, I believe.

        I know what you mean about some of the assignments not grabbing you. I decide when they show up if I am going to respond or not. Recently it’s been more “not.”

Leave a Reply

