The Long Wait

I know winter is almost here when I roll up my garden hose and store it in the basement. The supply line to the outside faucet is shut off and the rain barrel has been removed from under the downspout and is stored in the basement as well. All yarden decorations that can’t weather the cold have also been stowed away. It leaves a look of desolation to the landscape.

The long wait for spring’s regrowth has begun. This will be my 26th winter season here in western Pennsylvania. 25 years ago I left Kentucky in search of a new life. It’s been a prosperous journey for the most part. The cold and snowy winters of western PA are a necessary part of the continuing journey. And I have no immediate plans to end the trip just yet.

So, I’ll store my garden hose, get out the winter coat and hat, and maybe write a song or three while I wait for spring.

IMG_0240

2 Comments

  1. Sounds like a sensible approach to the long winter ahead. You’ll never believe what we did this year: moved from Florida and back to the Midwest. Everyone we meet tells us we must be crazy. Are we? Cold has a way of clearing and refreshing the mind. Preparing it for gardening and writing. If that’s true, I should be in tip-top shape very soon.

    1. I’m thrilled to hear from ya, my “old” friend! Was just thinkin about ya the other day, wonderin if you were still writing and walking! I don’t think you’re crazy at all, if the move is what y’all wanted and you felt it were right, that’s all that matters. But I do love the thought of snowless winters! (I’m making it a priority to visit your blog more often, I feel the need to reconnect!)

Leave a Reply

