Data, and lots of it!

While reading one of my tech mags on Flipboard I came across the following stat: “Each day the world generates 2.5 billion gigabytes of data.” That’s 1,000,000,000 + 1,000,000,000 + 5,000,000,00. EVERY DAY!

Big-Data

Since I’m a writer and musician a large part of what I write and play (my data) is probably out there somewhere. I know there’s a few things on YouTube, articles I’ve written and blog posts, and pictures I’ve taken floating around out there. When you consider everyone’s data that’s dumped into (or is it “onto?”) the World Wide Web, is 2.5 billion gigabytes per day a lot? It’s hard for the average Joe computer user to wrap their head around a number like 2.5 billion, and then multiply that number by 365.

Could Data store 2.5 billion gigabytes of data?
Could Data store 2.5 billion gigabytes of data?

I think it’s even more difficult to try and picture that much data as something concrete, as a physical object that needs to be stored somewhere. We store stuff in closets, on shelves, in boxes, in bags, in garages, but think about what kind of place it’d take to store 2.5 billion gigabytes (x 365) of stuff! Can all that data fit into a cloud?

ICloud_logo_(new)

I have an Apple iCloud account, but don’t store anything other than a few photos inside my cloud. I’d probably store more stuff in there if I could justify the added cost, but maybe not, it would probably depend on how much data I’d generate out of that 2.5 billion gigabytes. Right now I have about 97 gigabytes of data stored on my computer (it has a 1 terabyte capacity), and another  337 gigabytes stored externally (500 gigabyte storage unit). That adds up to 434 gigabytes of stored data.

TC's iCloud Dashboard
TC’s iCloud dashboard.

All this talk about data probably doesn’t interest any of you, or maybe it does but you just don’t give it much thought. I’m not what you’d call a computer geek or a techie, but had it not been for the fact that I couldn’t comprehend the higher programming languages that require a type of thinking that I’m not capable of doing, I would probably have a degree in computer science or information technology. And more than likely have a job in the tech industry. Data mining is a tech industry job. I wonder if I could do that?

I would use dynamite.
I would use dynamite.

 

7 Comments

  1. “I have an Apple iCloud account, but don’t store anything other than a few photos inside my cloud.” I sure hope, TC that none of those photos are nudes. After all look what happened to a bunch of famous people who stored their personal photos in the Apple iCloud.

Leave a Reply

