Buried with a tree

Simple things, you might imagine, a tree. You see them everywhere, pass them on your way to and from work, walk under, around, and in between them in the park, and grow them in pots in your living room. I have a rubber tree in my living room, it’s at least 25 years old.

1157528_10201939469067337_917519686_n
Look closely, that’s me halfway up.

I own a little section of wooded property with mature oaks, maples, and hickories. I climbed a tall oak in the backyard a couple of years ago, just to prove to myself that I could still do it. I wish I could identify each and every tree I came upon, at the most I can name maybe a half dozen or so.DSC06240

Trees silently tell me that I’m not so important in the grand scheme of things. I strain my neck trying to see what’s in their upper branches, but it’s only the wind and the leaves struggling against it. A battle that is never won until autumn.

Black gum (2)Trees produce oxygen, clean the soil, trap carbon dioxide, provide cool shade in summer and warm heat in winter, act as noise barriers, and give us something to climb on.

I came across a very intreeguing article recently about burial alternatives. Did you know that you can have your remains put in a biodegradeable burial urn along with a tree seed of your choice and then be planted? I’m rethinking my burial plans, I suggest you do the same.

I’m also making a play list of songs I want folks to hear at my Final Party. Death Cab For Cutie’s “Stable Song” will be on it, because it’s beautiful, and so are you.

13 Comments

  1. I hadn’t heard that song before, it’s beautiful. I like the idea of becoming part of a tree, I’ll have to look it up. I grew up with trees all over, our back yard was filled with tall fir trees, there were some in the front yard too. Mom got so nervous during big storms, especially after the big columbus day storm here in Oregon. We had a Cedar tree I climbed, once, very sappy. But it smelled wonderful. My God-Mother’s yard had a cherry tree we’d climb, eat cherries till we got sick… Thanks for bringing back some lost memories. Oh and that last picture is beautiful, did you take it? Love the colors!

    1. We’ve got two tall blue spruce in the front yard, there was three but wind took one out a couple years ago. A beech nut tree, several evergreens, a wild cherry tree, a couple of pear trees, Japanese maple, and other tall friends inhabit our landscape.

      The tree in that last photo is a Black Tupelo or Black Gum, it’s the first one to change colors in fall. I love it’s shape. And yes, I took that photo, most of the ones I post here (excluding the techie ones) are photos I’ve taken myself.

  2. Yep. That is a nice idea, however it also makes me a little sad, because that tree I become will most likely also die some day. Nope. Cremation and diamonds, then jewelry….(“talking” jewelry)

  3. What a wonderful idea. I too love trees, and like you, I can’t identify too many. But stick me in a biodegradable urn under a sycamore tree, please. They remind me of my childhood when we called sycamore trees “paint-by-numbers” trees.

      1. We mostly climbed maple, pine (sticky!) and some incredibly tall old apple trees. We also had a wonderful willow tree in our yard — it was so big it took all the kids in the neighborhood holding hands to circle it.

        There is a fallen sycamore tree in a park where I walk frequently that everyone walks on with their arms outstretched.

Leave a Reply

