Who is TC?

Googled: About 15,700,000 results

Binged: 3,820,000 RESULTS

There’s been at least one blogger and lots of personal friends, online and off, who’s asked me what my initials stand for. Which got me to wondering about myself. I’m sure many of you have wondered about yourselves too. And you’ve probably done what I’ve done out of curiosity. Of course this gives us no true meaning of who we really are, and when I offer my name “TC Conner” to new friends it’s not meaningful to them either. Nor is your name meaningful to me.

I’m going to reveal my full name within the next several minutes, see if it answers the question: Who is TC Conner?

Most of us named our children before they arrived. My wife and I did very little research, or put much forethought into the names we chose; two boys and two girls, four names chosen based on the sex of each child, and the names of our parents and/or siblings.

When you think about your name, does it tell you anything about your sentient being? My answer is no, other than something used as evidence of my existence, my name means nothing; it’s just 17 letters of the alphabet.

I asked my mother about my name, her answer wasn’t significant, she’s no longer with us so I can’t ask her again. I wanted to know why she chose my name.  Maybe she saw it in a Names for Boys list somewhere, home computers didn’t exist so I know she didn’t see it online. I never thought about asking my father, and now he’s gone too so it’s impossible to know if he came up with it. I associate my name with names for girls, not boys. That’s always bothered me a little, not in a bad way, in a way that makes me wonder if Mom was hoping for another girl.

I have a terrible memory, especially when it comes to remembering the name of a new acquaintance. I’d much rather know what that person’s favorite song is and then use a name of my own choosing. I’ve often thought about changing my name, but haven’t taken myself seriously, yet. I would probably choose “L&N” for my new name.

When you give someone your name are you giving them nothing more than letters?

Here are my 17 letters: Terry Carson Conner.

Who is he?

Maybe I'm Lavandula
Maybe I’m Lavandula

 

 

21 Comments

  1. Doesn’t it always happen that way? About the time we’re curious and need answers, our parents have died or no longer remember.

    Like you, we have four children (now adults), two sons, two daughters. Each one has a name beginning with A, but we didn’t purposely think through that. Our biggest issue was when we had three As, we were kind of locked in on the fourth!

    I like Terry Carson, but TC is more memorable to me. Merry Christmas, TC!

  2. You’ll always be one of my favorite bloggers, whether Terry or T.C. I see you’ve changed your site name, though. Any good reason for that? (I do notice a four-letter equivalent for mammary glands in the exact middle of your new site name.:)

    1. Yeah, I felt a need to ditch the write gardener, it wasn’t goin anywhere, not that it mattered. A change is good. And I was goin to use “For What’s Worth” but that was already taken. All I can say about that four letter word you’re referring to is I like them!

  3. I have an old friend (male) whose name is Terry — he didn’t use it much back when we knew each other better. Now he does for professional reasons. He was tagged with a nickname in college, and those of us who knew him shortly thereafter all ended up calling him Spooner. Poor guy. But that sort of habit is hard to break.

    As an adult, I love my name. Elise (spelled differently) was my great Aunt who was the coolest woman. She was a nurse at the turn of the century (19th-20th) and went to Europe to nurse the wounded in WWI before the US entered. She was 1st generation German-American, so guess which side she nursed. But as a kid, nobody had ever heard of it, nobody could pronounce it or spell it correctly. People called me Elsie — which put many thousands permanently on my shit list.

    I could also go with my initials, though. I changed my name when I got married in part because I love my initials: EEK.

    1. “Spooner.” I kinda like that moniker. I know how to play the spoons, different thing altogether.

      What a noble profession – the medical fields.

      How is “Elyse” pronounced? And shall I call you “EEK” from now on? 🙂

      1. It’s pronounced A – Lease. Like you’d get on a car. But you can call me EEK, too. Nobody does, though!

        I can never think of my friend Terry as anything but Spooner. It’s probably good that he now lives half a country away and I don’t know any of his professional colleagues!

    1. Do tell Ms. Marilyn, at least one of your pretend names? 🙂 And I like the name “Marilyn,” it reminds me of a very beautiful green-eyed African American girl I had a crush on in Jr. High School. 🙂

  4. well I like your name a lot – Terry Carson feels stately – but TC is cool -a nd I like the way your wrote about names – and I actually know a few folks that have changed their names – anyhow, I liked this “know what that person’s favorite song is…”
    🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

