Doing things you shouldn’t

We just got back from a week’s stay at a resort in Myrtle Beach, SC. Me, my wife, and two kids (22 and 20, both still like to hang out with their parents, sometimes. I’m ok with that). What can be said about family vacations that you haven’t already heard? Probably not much, but I’ll try. 

Lets start with the weather, we couldn’t have asked for anything nicer. Sunshine, sunshine, and more sunshine with temeratures reaching to 90 each day of our stay. It doesn’t get much better than that if you’re at a beach resort. 

Numerous eateries and bars up and down the main drag made it easy to find quality food and of course if you’re beer snobs like us, places with a good selection of craft beer. And no vacation I’m on would be complete unless I found live music by local musicians at a bar somewhere, and I did. It was hard not asking if I could play one or two!

Our week-long stay was made even more special when I was asked to “officiate” a wedding vow renewal ceremony on the beach – my sister-in-law and her husband of 20 years. I was told “Father TC” did a wonderful job. 

I have no regrets upon returning home. And had I not acted like a kid at times (sprinting after a non-makeable return shot while playing ping pong ball on the beach) it would have been an injury free vacation. Resting at home while the swelling subsides and contemplating things I shouldn’t do at my age wraps up an otherwise magnificent family vacation.  

    
 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

