Scaredy-b(c)ats!

What’s a dad to do for a scaredy-cat daughter away at college? The problem is a batty bat that keeps finding its way into the house where she and three other scaredy-cats are living. I’m trying to hold my ground and not run to her rescue, but it’s getting harder because this is the second time it’s happened. How would I feel if I got a phone call from the authorities telling me that my daughter had been ferociously attacked by a tiny mammal no bigger than a mouse? She’s 20-years old, taller than me at around 5’8″ or 5’9″, has played softball with a vengeance, babysat a rambunctious toddler numerous times, watches scary movies of all sorts, and yet is terrified by a little bat, as is her other three roommates, I don’t understand it.

Something in me says I should go there right now and capture the poor little terrified creature (no, not my daughter) and release it outside. I’m almost certain it’s a Little Brown Bat, the most common species here in North America. They need all the help we can give them, what with the White Nose Syndrome fungal disease they’ve been plagued with for years, Little Brown’s dine on large quantities of mosquitoes, and they also do their fair share of pollinating at night. I can’t see killing even one needlessly.

I’m afraid if I don’t do something to help the little guy escape the confines of that house, those girls might injure, or possibly kill it, unwittingly or not. I told my daughter to Google “How to catch a bat flying around my room,” I’m hoping she and those three other scaredy-cats will get up enough courage to safely and harmlessly trap the little bat and release it outside. If all else fails, I guess I can make the 20 minute drive and rescue the Little Brown Bat myself. Or call Batman!

Will Batman humanely capture and release a Little Brown Bat for my terrified daugther?
Leave a Reply

