This life, or the next if there is one

Getting older does something to you, physically and mentally. I’ll be 60 next year, an age that I think seems old, because I still think like I’m 30. I keep telling myself I’ll live forever, knowing without a doubt that I’ll die one day as surely as the sun rises.

Death is the common denominator, it’s the same for all of us. One day we’ll stop breathing for whatever reason, and it’ll be over. Or will it? I was brought up to believe that there is someplace you go after you die. Actually, two places; one is good, the other not so good. Isn’t it odd to think that you actually “go” someplace? It’s like there’s two of us, one is the physical, the alive person that we are now, the other is a spirit, it’s what continues on, or not, after we die.

The bad place is where you (or your spirit) go if you havn’t been good. I never knew there were so many bad things that would cause you to go to the bad place until I realized that I would one day cease to exist. Believing in God as I do, I’m aware of what the Bible teaches about what might or might not happen to me after I die. It’s scary to think about the bad things I’ve done (and will probably continue to do) that God will point out to me. I hope that God will not judge me too harshly. It’s mentioned in the Bible that God is merciful, how much of that I’m due will be determined in the end I guess.

I think I’m a pretty good person, I’ve not killed or hurt anyone or anything on purpose. I don’t lie, cheat, take things that don’t belong to me, I pay my taxes when they’re due, and I try really hard to treat others as I’d like to be treated.

One of the definitions of bad is “not good in any manner or degree,” another reads “of poor or inferior quality; defective; deficient.” That second definition seems to fit me, and the bad things I’ve done and will do in the future are what causes the defect. It’s a constant battle, good vs. bad, and the ammunition some of us are using isn’t very powerful, but that’s as it should be, because if we all had the atomic bomb the battle wouldn’t be worth winning. So, who wins in the end?

If after being judged God decides that the good I’ve done outweighs the bad, my battle will be won. But what about all the people out there who believe that once they’ve fought the good fight there’s nothing afterwards? What if they’re right and we’re wrong?

what_is_this

Leave a Reply

