Dying

I thought this was rather good, if I do say so myself!

For What It's Valued

I’ll be the first to admit that it scares me to death when I think about it. I’ve written more than one morbid poem inspired by it. And when I hear or read: “It’s just a part of life,” I don’t feel any better about it. But there is something about it that’s very intriguing.


Perennials go through a stage called dormancy during winter, so they’re not really dead. Healthy and long-lasting old shrub roses seem to be immortal, I know of one that’s been around at least 150 years.

You don’t see many photographs of spent flowers, either annuals or perennials. I guess they might be considered ugly or unsightly, but are they really?

I usually wait until the first snows fly before I cut any of the dried brown stuff. Last year, the Jays were late getting to the sunflowers, so I left them standing through January. Sometimes…

View original post 217 more words

Leave a Reply

