Is photography worth its weight in pictures?

60-years old only comes around once. So I’ve decided to take my photography to the next level, even if it means neglecting a few other things (don’t fret dear wife, I’ll still do the dishes, laundry, mow the lawn, take out the trash, etc.).

Most of y’all know that I used to be the gardening columnist for the local paper (Grove City’s Allied News) and the photographs of flowers I used for my articles were ones that I took myself. The majority of those photos were decent and didn’t require anything more than a press of the shutter button and a little clean up work in Lightroom. I stopped taking photographs (not completely but almost) shortly after my stint as Allied’s gardening columnist ended. And that’s been unfortunate, I miss writing the column and I also miss the flower photography.

I can’t do anything about getting the gardening columnist job back (thanks again to those of you who wrote a letter to the editor on my behalf) but I can do something about taking pictures again!

I purchased a DSLR (digital single lens reflex) camera in February and I’m now in the process of learning all I can about entry-level DSLR photography. This type of photography allows you to be more creative, and I’m really looking forward to this endeavor!

If you happen to see me out and about with my camera hanging from my neck, you have my permission to come over and ask me to take your photograph. I promise to do my best to make you look fabulous!! And you can keep the photo! (Free for a limited time only!)

I’d like to thank my good friend and photographer Beth Kramer for adding coal to the fire (and the camera!) and pro photographer Spyros Heniadis for his always helpful and enthusiastic tutorials.

(The following photos were taken with a Canon EOS Rebel T5i, which is, next to my Martin, my closest personal inanimate friend!)

hellebore

bottletree

backyardsunset

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

